Music Video Styles

If I choose to do a music video for my project then there are three potential styles that I could model it around, these being; Performance, Narrative and Conceptual.

Performance – relies on the fact that you need a performer to ‘star’ in your music video, whether to act out a story-line that goes with the music or to mouth along to the words of the song. The majority of performance music videos do feature the artist of band who sings the song but a contradicting example of this is Sia – Chandelier as this is performance but doesn’t feature the artist herself. However this could also be argued as conceptual as well. I quite like the idea of all three of these styles at the moment as I think that all have the ability to broadcast something different through my final music video. Performance seems like the most commonly used one to me, as the majority of music videos that I’ve seen are based around the artist or even group of people performing the song.

Narrative – tells a story through the music video, it has to go somewhere and makes sense in order to work; this option does appeal to me as I like the idea of telling a story through a song but at the moment I’m unsure as to what kind of story I would want to tell. However, in my opinion, the style of performance usually goes hand in hand with a narrative style. This obviously isn’t the case for all but I find that a lot of time, during a performance styled music video, the piece usually goes somewhere, tells a short story or something changes throughout. In the vast majority of music videos, it goes somewhere in a way to keep the audience interested and engaged throughout the performance.

Conceptual -can be considered as far more ‘random’ than the other two styles of music video as a lot of the time it doesn’t have to make sense or even go anywhere. This  option does appeal to me because I like the idea of having a display of short videos that work with the song but not necessarily go after one another. It’s very possible that a music video can be a combination of any of the three styles of music video, for example ‘Just’ by Radiohead is a combination of all three and ‘No Doubt’ It’s my life is a mixture of narrative and performance. Can be considered as far more ‘random’ than the other two styles of music video as a lot the time it doesn’t have to make sense or even go anywhere.

Leave a Reply

