Initial Ideas and Resource Audit

After looking at all of the possible formats for my advanced portfolio two of the fourteen options stood out to me, these being;

An extract from an original documentary TV programme, lasting approximately five minutes, together with two of the following three options: a radio trailer for the documentary; a double-page spread from a listings magazine focused on the documentary;  a newspaper advertisement for the documentary

The first two pages of an original local newspaper together with two of the following three options: a billboard poster for the newspaper; a radio advertisement for the newspaper; two hyperlinked pages from the paper’s website.

My initial thoughts upon hearing the brief was that I liked the idea of a documentary revolving around friends or family and the kind of decisions they’re facing within the next year or two. Specifically my friends Oliver, Rhianne, Tom, Dylan and Rosie as some are planning on going to University next year whereas others are looking for jobs or apprenticeships. I liked the thought of showing the pressures and stress that everyone has to go through during their last school year. I have a few settings in mind which are around London, Pinner and Northwood. I like idea of showing how teenagers try to balance their education, social lives and work whilst trying to figure out what they’re going to do with their lives. However whilst I find the idea of a documentary interesting, at this point I’m unsure whether this idea would work and so doing an original local newspaper also appeals to me because I think I could do this to a high standard.

Leave a Reply

